Twitterstorian

Admittedly, I don’t use Twitter all that much. The platform I don’t really favor, and I primarily used it to vote on which team in the LCS I thought was going to win. I only recently changed my picture from that of Justice Leagues “The Question” and started moving in the direction of taking the platform more seriously. I followed a few Twitterstorians (after searching the term) as well as checked out a couple of the twitter diaries I had seen previously and referenced in the white paper I wrote for a previous class. Many of the twitterstorian posts didn’t necessarily have to deal with being a historian. I blame the hype of the election, but quite a few were more vocal about that than about history. There were a few who were asking for advice on potential sources, topics, and other ideas, as well as sharing links to different articles to keep their followers informed on the topics they thought valuable. War Through Art I rather enjoy, as they post posters and they celebrated national pickle day by posting two war posters about pickles, which gets them points in my book for such a niche post.

My twitter is still a hodgepodge of different subjects, several retweeted reviews of internet celebrity critics I found interesting or who raised good points, a couple pictures of cats, some League of Legends related posts, and sharing a page about puns. Admittedly there isn’t really anything remotely history related on my twitter page, though I think most of that is due to my reluctance to even use he platform in the first place. I would try to “harness he power of the digital web” in other ways truthfully. I liked the podcasts we looked at a couple weeks ago and doing one of those could be fun. Historical YouTube series like Extra History, which were both entertaining and good for brushing up on my history of Christianity and made for good discussion as I was able to go into greater detail with my friends who were watching with me. For my exhibit, I could incorperate a short podcast on the history of Ridgefield and the Weir Family up to the first World War to help provide a background information for the listener that can help visitors greater understand the items on the website.

Leave a Reply

